Skip to main content

Waste Management Plans

New Waste Management Planning Regions
Local/Regional Waste Management Plans
EPA National Hazardous Waste Management Plan
Review of the National Hazardous Waste Management Plan


New Waste Management Planning Regions


Among the measures contained in "A Resource Opportunity – Waste Management Policy In Ireland" which will play an important role in the provision of effective and efficient delivery of waste management services is the reduction in the number of waste management planning regions from 10 to 3. The County and City Managers Association confirmed the composition of the three new Waste Management Planning Regions - which correspond with the regional structures set out in the Government’s Action Programme for Effective Local Government - and ratified the Lead Authorities tasked with developing new plans for the three Waste Management Planning Regions. 


New Waste Management Planning Regions
RegionLead Authority


Local Authorities:

Cavan, Donegal, Galway City, Galway County, Leitrim, Mayo,  Monaghan, Roscommon, Sligo

Mayo County Council



Local Authorities:

Dublin City,  Dun Laoghaire/Rathdown, Fingal, Kildare, Laois, Longford, Louth,  Meath, Offaly, South Dublin, Wicklow, Westmeath


Dublin City Council



Local Authorities:

Carlow, Clare, Cork City, Cork County, Kerry, Kilkenny, Limerick, Tipperary, Waterford, Wexford

Tipperary-Limerick Consortium


In accordance with Section 22 of the Waste Management Act, 1996 and the Waste Management (Planning) Regulations, 1997, the Lead Authorities, as set out in the table above, gave notice of the intention to commence the preparation of New Regional Waste Management Plans on 10 October, 2013.

Notice of Intention to Commence Preparation of Regional Waste Plans (pdf, 45kb)





Under Part II of the 1996 Waste Management Act 1996 :

  • local authorities are required to make waste management plans in respect of their functional areas, and
  • the EPA is required to make a national hazardous waste management plan.


 The statutory objective of these plans is to -

  • prevent or minimise the production and harmful nature of waste,
  • encourage and support the recovery of waste,
  • ensure that such waste as cannot be prevented or recovered is safely disposed of, and
  • address the need to give effect to the polluter pays principle, in relation to waste disposal.



Existing Local/Regional Waste Management Plans


Local authorities reviewed the existing 10 Regional Waste Management Plans by the end of 2012. It is evident from the plans that local authorities have been guided by the various policy statements on waste. In particular, the plans make provision for the development of an integrated waste management infrastructure, including

    • "kerbside" collection of recyclable materials in urban areas;
    • "bring" facilities for recyclable materials in rural areas;
    • civic amenity sites and waste transfer stations;
    • biological treatment of "green" and organic household waste;
    • materials recovery facilities;
    • recycling capacity for construction and demolition waste; thermal treatment facilities; and
    • residual landfill requirements.


The country was divided into 10 regions for waste management purposes and the existing 10 waste management plans (external link) are available on the EPA website.

The evaluation of the existing Waste Management Plans was completed in advance of 31 December, 2012 in accordance with Section 22 (2) (d) of the Waste Management Act 1996. Copies of the evaluation reports can be downloaded from the following links:



EPA National Hazardous Waste Management Plan


Under the Waste Management Act 1996, as amended, the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is required to make a national hazardous waste management plan which, among other things, deals with the prevention of hazardous waste and the setting of targets towards this goal, identifying facilities currently available for the collection, recovery or disposal of hazardous wastes, and make recommendations regarding infrastructure, waste facilities and other physical resources considered to be necessary for the management of these wastes.

A copy of the EPA National Hazardous Wast Management Plan (external link) is available from the EPA website.


Review of the National Hazardous Waste Management Plan


The National Hazardous Waste Management Plan must be reviewed every five years. The Environmental Protection Agency is now reviewing the Plan and the first two elements of the review process, a) the preparation of a Strategy Study and b) the preparation of a Strategic Environmental Assessment consultation, are well progressed. 

Further information on the review of the National Hazardous Waste Management Plan (external link)




  • Print this page

Publications & Documents

News and Speeches