Skip to main content

Minister Hogan announces appointment to the Board of the Western Development Commission


The Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government, Phil Hogan T.D., has indicated that he proposes to appoint, Mr Paddy McGuinness as the new chair to the board of the Western Development Commission. This appointment will fill the existing chairperson vacancy.
Mr McGuinness is a businessman in Castlebar, Co. Mayo and served on Mayo County Council from 2004 to 2009.
The appointment is for the term of the existing board which runs until 20 February 2014.

In line with the Government decision regarding the appointment of Chairpersons to state boards and bodies, the proposed appointee is required to make himself available to come before the Oireachtas committee for Environment, Transport, Culture and the Gaeltacht, before the appointment is confirmed.
The Western Development Commission (WDC) is a statutory body with responsibility for fostering and promoting economic and social development in the Western Region (counties Donegal, Sligo, Leitrim, Roscommon, Mayo, Galway and Clare).

The Minister thanked the members of the Board for their valued service and contribution to the Western Development Commission. Members of the board are appointed from a range of backgrounds, including business and senior positions in their previous organisations. The Minister welcomes the new appointment which will have a key focus on the development of the western region and will bring a breath of valuable experience to the new Board.

The Minister stated: “I believe the new chairperson, together with the members of the board, bring a strong set of talents that will greatly benefit the Western Development Commission in its important work to promote the Western region. For example, the WDC manages an important portfolio of investments, through the Western Investment Fund, in 89 companies that supports over 1,500 jobs in the Western region. This and the other work that the WDC carries out for the development of the region will continue to support the potential of the area to use its natural resources – most notably the people - and to develop opportunities for the region at this time when this input is vitally important.”


  Eolas breise/ Additional Information
 Paddy Mc Guinness Chairperson/Cathaoirleach - Proposed
 Mary Devine O’Callaghan Practice Manager – Kilrane O’Callaghan & Company Solicitors
 Mary Hoade Member of Galway County Council
 Jackie Maguire Leitrim County Manager
 Martina Minogue Business Consultant
 Mr Neville Bagnall Businessman and member of the Council for the West
 Katie Sweeney CEO, Co Mayo VEC
 Gerry O’Connor Businessman
 Vincent Roche Former CEO North Western Regional Fisheries Board
Dr Seosamh O’Ceallaigh  Teacher  - former member of Donegal County Council
 Jim Devenney Farmer, community worker